student-writing

Writing Assitance Centre

All students are welcome!

In-person, virtual, and/or online appointments. 

Please don’t let the name fool you. We are here to help with a variety of subjects (depending on tutors) to all students.

You can join a tutor in the Writing Assistance Centre in either Room 202B (Thompson) or B57 (The Pas).  A tutor schedule is posted outside both rooms. The schedule and tutors change for each term (Fall, Winter, and Spring).

If you are not on either campus, you may email the tutor you want to work with and schedule a Zoom appointment while they are in the Writing Assistance Centre. Please be aware that tutors will not be in the Zoom room unless prior arrangements have been made.

Tutor sessions may also be booked in 30- or 60-minute sessions by emailing the tutor in advance.

If you will be using Zoom, please make an appointment with the tutor and email all appropriate documents to the tutor before your session. 

Zoom Link: https://ucn-ca.zoom.us/j/2898775179 

If you would like to arrange an appointment for tutorial help, I have included email addresses. Blue is Thompson Campus Room 202B, and Orange is The Pas Campus Room B57.


Mondays 1:30-2:30 p.m. Dr. Ying Kong. Discipline: Literature/English. Email: Ykong@ucn.ca

Mondays 4:15-5:15 p.m. Zulfqar Awan. Discipline: Literature/English. Email: Zawan@ucn.ca

Tuesdays 10:30-11:30 a.m. Keith Hyde. Discipline: English/Social Sciences. Email: Khyde@ucn.ca

Tuesdays 11 a.m.-12 p.m. Mark Matiasek. Discipline: Social Sciences/Bus. Admin. Email:
Mmatiasek@ucn.ca

Wednesdays 10 a.m.-12 p.m. Mr. Kirk Fisher. Discipline: Science & Math. Email: Kfischer@ucn.ca

Wednesdays 2 – 3 p.m. Tariqul Islam. Discipline: Social Sciences. Email: Tislam@ucn.ca   ***online. F2F needs to have an appointment made***

Thursdays 10 – 11 a.m. Aaron Crowe. Discipline: Social Sciences. Email: Acrowe@ucn.ca

Thursdays 1 – 2 p.m. Amanda Nsi. Discipline: Education. Email: Ansi@ucn.ca

Lisa Wolanski. Schedule is flexible. Please email Lwolanski@ucn.ca to arrange an appointment.

Online Only: Sundays 5 – 6:30 p.m. Dr. Joseph Atoyebi. Discipline: English. Email: Jatoyebi@ucn.ca

What can I expect with the Writing Assistance Centre at UCN
Our goal is to help you become a better thinker, writer and learner. Tutoring helps you understand how to strengthen your skills now and in the future.
The tutor will work with you to:
  • Develop and determine a direction for your paper or assignment
  • Strengthen your paper or assignment
  • Identify reoccurring grammatical errors or structural problems
  • Work on science/math/business courses (if tutors are available)
If you don't know where you are going wrong with your assignment, we can help.
What should I not expect during a tutorial? The tutor does not:
  • Proofread or edit papers
  • Comment on the content
  • Comment on a graded paper
  • Comment on a professor or instructor
  • Offer suggested grades for a paper or assignment
 
What should I bring with me to a tutorial session?
  • Your assignment instructions/guidelines, and rubric if provided.
  • Specific questions. Don't just say you need help.
  • What have you already completed.

If joining by Zoom or requesting online help, those same items should be emailed to the tutor of your choice.